Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Stuck spindle bolt. Help for a newbie please!

Fermion
    Country
    United States

Stuck spindle bolt. Help for a newbie please!

I have an AA2. I'm not a mechanic and have mainly worked on offroad vehicles where precision isn't as necessary. I had to take my fenders off the re-glue them as the bond came loose and I also did some paint touch up. I couldn't seem to break the allen bolt loose. Tried a breaker bar and an impact, but was afraid of snapping it off. Ended up getting them off by undoing another bolt.

Is this what people removed to get the fenders off?

I want to do some more work to the car with the fenders and would really like to get these bolts off and possibly just replace them for peace of mind. Any suggestions? I don't want to break it off and get it stuck in there and have a bigger problem on my hands!!

Capture.jpg

Country
    United States
    On the A3 SRA the fenders mount with two bolts into the hub, it has no connection to any suspension parts. In the front it has a dedicated bolt into the hub again, but uses the steering rod bolt as well. I never had to undo the a-arm bolt, or any suspension bolts.

EDIT: these are also Skunkwurx.
    Last edited by cvjoint; September 27, 2018 at 11:45 AM.

Fermion
    Country
    United States
    Soak the bolt/area with some Liquid Wrench overnight, then use an impact or similar. Should come out.
    Yes, remove that upper control arm bolt, then the bracket bolts that attach the fender mounts.
    sector: 4 likes this.

Blog Entries
    Country
    United States
    If it was me I would buy some Safety washes to put on the upper control arm bolt. There inexpensive and cheap Insurance if you should have a rod failure. Do you have race grade rod ends?

shopping.png

IMAG0297.jpg
    cvjoint and sector: 4 like this.

Gluon
    Country
    United States